Top Michigan cybersecurity students awarded at Cyber Summit

okemos high school
Posted at 3:40 PM, Oct 30, 2019
and last updated 2019-10-30 16:50:10-04

LANSING, Mich. — Highlighting the skills needed to fill the growing demand for cybersecurity talent in Michigan and beyond, students from Okemos High School (Okemos, MI) were crowned champions of the 2019 Governor’s High School Cyber Challenge []. The top ten teams competed in the final round of the competition today at the North American International Cyber Summit.

In the fourth year of the competition, 218 teams consisting of 654 students from all corners of Michigan participated in the challenge. The event kicked off with the first round of competition taking place Sept. 30 through Oct. 3, 2019.

“There will be millions of unfilled jobs in the cybersecurity field in the next year alone,” said Gov. Gretchen Whitmer. “It is critical that we get students interested and engaged in this ever-growing field at an early age. Through the participation we’ve seen in the High School Cyber Challenge, it is clear that Michigan students are picking up the torch.”

The members of the winning team from Okemos consisted of Arham Jain (coach), Tristan Lusardi, Eric Andrechek, and Jainil Shah. The team from Canton High School (Canton, MI) took home the second-place trophy and Newaygo High School (Newaygo, MI) finished in third.

Gov. Whitmer also recognized two teams from Michigan that participated in the national Girls Go CyberStart [] competition in the spring. The teams from Huron High School and Hillsdale Area Career Center both made the national finals of the competition.

Huron High School - Veda Srinivas, Mariam Mahmoud, Vidya Srinivas, and Victoria Liu

Hillsdale Area Career Center - Grace Emens, Kyra Lewis, Merete Lockwood, and Phoebe Shroats

The eighth North American International Cyber Summit, hosted by Gov. Whitmer, brought together more than 700 participants today to discuss solutions for the cybersecurity dangers that threaten the security of citizens and business throughout the world.

More information about Michigan’s cybersecurity efforts and helpful links on ways to protect yourself from cyber threats can be found at [].

The Governor’s High School Cyber Challenge is run and facilitated by Merit Network [] and the Michigan Cyber Range [], in partnership with the state of Michigan.


1st Place: Okemos High School

okemos high school
Arham Jain (coach), Tristan Lusardi, Gov. Gretchen Whitmer, Eric Andrechek, Jainil Shah, and DTMB Director Tricia Foster

2nd Place: Canton High School

canton high school
DTMB Director Tricia Foster, Scott Obsniuk (coach), Brian Mulka, Gov. Gretchen Whitmer, Diana Randall, Andy Ealovega

3rd Place: Newaygo County CTC

newago high school
Jason Baldus (coach), Gavin Orcutt, Gov. Gretchen Whitmer, Allison Truskowski, Dylan Seidletz, DTMB Director Tricia Foster

Girls Go Cyberstart
Huron High School

Huron High School
Gov. Gretchen Whitmer, Veda Srinivas, Mariam Mahmoud, and DTMB Director Tricia Foster (Not pictured: Jonathan Cook (coach), Vidya Srinivas, and Victoria Liu)

Hillsdale Area Career Center

Hillsdale Area Career Center
Phoebe Shroats, Gov. Gretchen Whitmer, Grace Emens, Kyra Lewis, Merete Lockwood, and DTMB Director Tricia Foster (Not pictured: Wayne Boggs (coach))

Want to learn more about great things happening in mid-Michigan? Visit the FOX47News Website.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android


Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox.

Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook