Michigan State Police want drivers to focus on driving when they're behind the wheel.
They have a public awareness campaign that uses the phrase Get Your Head Out of Your App to express the importance of paying attention to the road when driving.
Police are sharing information on Facebook and Twitter using #JustDrive and #DistractedDriving.
Using a cellphone, eating, or changing radio stations counts as distracted driving. Police say that the number of people killed in distracted driving crashes in Michigan doubled from 2014 to 2015. During 2015, there were 28 fatalities involving distracted driving.
Police have some tips to decrease distracted driving. They say you should secure items when the car is not in motion, don't reach down or behind the seat to get items, and schedule regular stops.
Michigan law prohibits texting while driving. For a first offense, motorists are fined $100. Any other offenses cost $200.