Mason Public Schools Honors 25 Mason Promise Scholars

Posted at 10:42 AM, Sep 21, 2020
and last updated 2020-09-21 10:58:55-04

MASON, Mich. — Each year, 25 students are selected to be Mason Promise Scholars as they finish their grade 5 year. These Scholars are traditionally honored at a ceremony held in May. As they were unable to bring the group together per social distancing regulations, students were honored in a drive-up ceremony on August 5.

The Promise Scholarship Board recognized the inducted members of the class of 2027 with a drive-up ceremony at Mason Middle School. Each child received a certificate and bag full of goodies. The Board is grateful for the support of the following for providing gifts to each scholar: candy bars and balloons from Jodi Somerville, cookies from Becky Hinman, a gift bag of activities from Modern Woodman and Quincie McCalla, plastic cups and hand sanitizer from Dart Bank, puzzle books from Bestsellers Bookstore, toys and candy from Kean’s Store Company and a t-shirt from the Promise Board. Additionally, cash donations were provided by Shireen Luther, Gerald Luther, Tomco Asphalt, Inc., Melissa Oesterle, Douglas Dancer, Sally Trout and Karla Spoor.

“Our yearly induction ceremony is very special to us. The Promise Board looks forward to recognizing and rewarding our scholars for their hard work and celebrating with their families,” said Melissa Oesterle, Mason Promise Scholarship Board Chair. “While this year was different in format, we desired to maintain that same recognition and distinction for each student. We loved seeing the smiles on the faces of our scholars and their families and hope this is a great jumping off point for the rest of their remaining educational journey.”

Congratulations to the 2020 Mason Promise Scholars!

Emma Baker
Haidyn Bedes
Olivia Clifford
Riley Copeland
Brooklyn Gutierrez
Alexander Imgrund
Zeb James
Violet Klages
Kayleigh Laclear
Dylan Lock
Landyn Loveless
Elise Mack
Gailee Maynard
Cady Miller
Tyler Morales
Damien Moran
Maya Olvera
Isabelle Palmer
Mya Rich
Grace Richardson
Abigail Robinson
Elaina Sanchez
Skye Staffeld
Peighton Stid
Emma Whipple

Want to learn more about great things happening in mid-Michigan? Visit the FOX47News Website.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android


Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox.

Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook