MSU Pediatrician joins Flint Crisis Committee

Posted at 6:07 PM, Jan 27, 2016

Mona Hanna-Attisha, assistant professor of pediatrics in the College of Human Medicine and director of the pediatric residency program at Hurley Medical Center, has been named a member of Gov. Rick Snyder’s Flint Water Interagency Coordinating Committee. The committee will set in place long-term solutions to Flint’s water system.

The 17-member committee, housed within the Michigan State Police, will be asked to make recommendations regarding the health and welfare of people exposed to lead, study Flint’s water infrastructure and determine potential upgrades, review Flint Water Task Force recommendations and establish ways to improve communication between local and state government.

“Flint residents deserve clean, safe drinking water and I am confident that the expertise represented on this committee will be a tremendous asset as we continue to address the water crisis in Flint,” Snyder said. “I am grateful to these appointees for their willingness to serve on this important committee.”

Others appointed to the committee include:

  • Karen Weaver, mayor of the city of Flint
  • Jamie Curtis, chairman of the Genesee County Board of Commissioners
  • Marc Edwards, professor at Virginia Tech
  • Natasha Henderson, city administrator and chief administrator officer for the city of Flint.
  • Jim Koski, retired Saginaw county drain commissioner
  • Lawrence Reynolds, president and CEO of the Mott Children’s Health Center
  • Laura Sullivan, professor of mechanical engineering at Kettering University
  • Mark Valacak, health officer of the Genesee County Health Department and an instructor at the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
  • Harvey Hollins, director of Office of Urban Initiatives within the Executive Office of the Governor
  • Col. Chris Kelenske , deputy state director of Emergency Management and Homeland Security within the Michigan Department of State Police
  • Keith Creagh, director of the Department of Environmental Quality
  • Nick Lyon, director of the Department of Health and Human Services
  • Mike Zimmer, director of the Department or Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
  • Nick Khouri, state treasurer
  • Brian Whiston, superintendent of public instruction

Members will serve three-year terms expiring Dec. 31, 2018.