Eight graduate students receive COGS Disciplinary Leadership Award

Posted at 9:31 AM, Feb 21, 2017
and last updated 2017-02-21 09:31:19-05

Eight Michigan State University doctoral students have received the Council of Graduate Students’ annual Disciplinary Leadership Award.

This award is presented to graduate students who have demonstrated leadership in their respective disciplines and/or professional societies at the local, state, regional, national or international level while a student at MSU. The award is provided as a $2,000 fellowship to further the leadership development of the recipient.

The 2017 award winners are:

Cassie Brownell, a doctoral candidate and Marianne Amarel Teaching and Learning Fellow in the Department of Teacher Education. Brownell received the award for her leadership engagement in research, teaching and service that centers on the voices and experiences of young children.

Marva Goodson, a doctoral student in the School of Criminal Justice. Goodson received the award for creating Youth Advancement Through Athletics, a youth development program that provides opportunities for at-risk students.

Tayo Moss, a doctoral student in the Department of Kinesiology. Moss received the award for both his leadership in the North American Society for Psychology of Sport and Physical Activity and his mentorship of student athletes.

Yun Ju Pan, a doctoral student of percussion performance in the College of Music. Pan received the award for teaching and mentoring young musicians at classes and clinics she conducted at various universities.

Connie Rojas, a doctoral student working toward a dual degree in both the Department of Integrative Biology and the Ecology, Evolutionary Biology and Behavior Program. Rojas received the award for her leadership in MSU’s chapter of the Society for the Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science. The award also recognizes her work to empower the Latino community by mentoring undergraduate students and increasing student retention in STEM fields.

Joshua Rosenberg, a doctoral student in MSU’s Educational Psychology and Educational Technology Program. Rosenberg received the award for his leadership work on Technological Pedagogical Content Knowledge with the Society for Information Technology and Teacher Education, which focuses on research, development and outreach for preparing educators to teach with technology.

Udita Sanga, a doctoral student in the Department of Community Sustainability. Sanga received the award for her design of an innovative, role-playing board game. Her product uses a participatory, game-based approach to understanding farmer decision-making and cognitive strategies surrounding food production, distribution and consumption under various climate scenarios.

Timothy Silberg, a doctoral student in the Department of Community Sustainability. Silberg received the award for his various leadership roles in promoting interdisciplinary and participatory action research to overcome conventional approaches for addressing global food security.

For more information about the COGS Disciplinary Leadership Award, visit the MSU Graduate School website.