We Are Spartans


2019 college football hall of fame ballot features three spartans, former coach

Posted: 1:35 PM, Jun 06, 2018
Updated: 2018-06-06 17:35:34Z

Three former Michigan State All-Americans -- offensive tackle Flozell Adams, offensive tackle Tony Mandarich and running back Lorenzo White -- along with former Spartan head coach Darryl Rogers are featured on the National Football Foundation's 2019 (Football Bowl Subdivision) ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

In addition, former Spartan Gideon Smith, the first African-American to play intercollegiate athletics at Michigan State and a three-year letterwinner from 1913-15, is on the ballot for the second time in the divisional coaching category. Smith coached at Hampton University from 1921-40 and led the Pirates to the 1922 Black College National Championship.

Read the full story at  msuspartans.com.