NBA releases names of 75 greatest players in league history

Posted at 1:48 PM, Oct 20, 2021

The National Basketball Association is turning 75, and to celebrate that milestone, they've decided to name the 75 greatest players in league history.

On Tuesday, they released the first 25 names of players that they've named to its 75th-anniversary team.

The first players to make the cut are, in no particular order:

Bill Russell
Bob Pettit
Oscar Robertson
Dirk Nowitzki
Hal Greer
Giannis Antetokounmpo
Kevin Durant
Willis Reed
Jerry Lucas
Elvin Hayes
Hakeem Olajuwon
James Harden
Bob Cousy
Dave Cowens
Nate Archibald
Kevin McHale
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
George Mikan
John Stockton
Steve Nash
Charles Barkley
Julius Erving
Moses Malone
George Gervin
David Robinson

The second set of 25 players that were named to the list on Wednesday were:

Magic Johnson
James Worthy
Wilt Chamberlain
Jerry West
Larry Bird
Michael Jordan
Scottie Pippen
Isiah Thomas
Clyde Drexler
Karl Malone
Patrick Ewing
Chris Paul
Allen Iverson
Tim Duncan
Kevin Garnett
Robert Parish
John Havlicek
Sam Jones
Bill Walton
Bill Sharman
Walt Frazier
Paul Arizin
Rick Barry
Nate Thurmond
Wes Unseld

The last batch of players to round out the top 75 was announced Thursday:

Elgin Baylor
Dolph Schayes
Pete Maravich
Dave Bing
Lenny Wilkens
Dave DeBusschere
Earl Monroe
Billy Cunningham
Shaquille O'Neal
Dominique Wilkins
Ray Allen
Dwyane Wade
Jason Kidd
Kobe Bryant
Gary Payton
Bob McAdoo
Paul Pierce
Stephen Curry
Reggie Miller
Kawhi Leonard
Damian Lillard
LeBron James
Carmelo Anthony
Anthony Davis
Russell Westbrook

According to the league, the players were selected by media members, current and former players, coaches, and team executives.