Jabrill Peppers, Jourdan Lewis, Jake Butt named finalists for national awards

Posted at 9:57 PM, Nov 21, 2016
and last updated 2016-11-22 13:12:33-05

(WXYZ) -- Jabrill Peppers, Jourdan Lewis, and Jake Butt were among the finalists announced Monday for awards presented by the National College Football Awards Association.

Peppers is a finalist for both the Maxwell Award (presented to the player of the year) and the Chuck Bednarik Award (presented to the defensive player of the year.) The other finalists for the Maxwell Award are Lamar Jackson (Louisville) and Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma), while the other finalists for the Bednarik Award are Jonathan Allen (Alabama) and Myles Garrett (Texas A&M).

Lewis is a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award, presented to the top defensive back. He is joined by Adoree' Jackson (USC) and Tre'Davious White (LSU).

Butt is a finalist for the John Mackey Award, presented to the top tight end. The other finalists are O.J. Howard (Alabama) and Jordan Leggett (Clemson).

The awards will be presented December 8 at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.