Whitmer named among co-chairs for Biden-Harris inauguration

Posted at 10:24 AM, Dec 07, 2020

Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer will be a co-chair for the Inauguration of President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris.

According to the Presidential Inaugural Committee (PIC), Rep. James Clyburn will chair the committee.

“Kamala and I are honored and grateful to these leaders for joining our inaugural committee as co-chairs and helping to organize a safe inauguration for all Americans. These leaders reflect the strength, spirit, and diversity of America and have always held a steadfast commitment to restoring the soul of the nation, building back the middle class, and unifying the country. We are proud of their support and know they will help plan an inauguration that will reflect our nation’s shared values," Biden said in a release.

Others on the committee include Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti, Louisiana Rep. Cedric Richmond and Delaware Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester.

“I am humbled to become a part of the inauguration for President-elect Biden and Vice President-elect Harris as a Co-Chair. This inauguration will exemplify the strength and resilience our country has demonstrated throughout this entire year and set the stage for how the Biden-Harris Administration will beat the pandemic, create jobs that fuel economic recovery, and unite all Americans. While we are going to focus on keeping people safe this year, we will make sure Americans have the opportunity to celebrate this pivotal moment for our country,” Whitmer said in a release.