Nassar sexual abuse survivors to receive Arthur Ashe Courage Award at 2018 ESPYS

Posted at 5:03 PM, May 16, 2018
and last updated 2018-05-17 11:27:54-04

Victims of abuse at the hands of disgraced former Michigan State University team doctor Larry Nassar will recieve the Arthur Ashe Award for Courage at this year's ESPYS, the organization announced Wednesday.  

“We are honored to recognize the courage of these women at The 2018 ESPYS, to acknowledge the power of their voices, and to shine a very well-deserved spotlight on what speaking up, fighting back, and demanding accountability can accomplish,” said Alison Overholt, Vice President and Editor in Chief, ESPN The Magazine, espnW, and The ESPYS. “They have shown us all what it truly means to speak truth to power, and through their bravery, they are making change for future generations. By honoring this group who spoke out, we aim to honor all of those who are survivors of abuse.

“For 25 years, the Arthur Ashe Award for Courage has been given to those who change the world in important ways, and the future will undoubtedly be different because of the actions of these heroic women,” said Maura Mandt, executive producer, The ESPYS. “This tribute will reflect the awe and admiration these individuals deserve.”

It was also announced Wednesdaythat Michigan State University will pay survivors of Larry Nassar $500 million after settling lawsuits against the university.

According to attorneys representing the 332 survivors, $425 million will be paid out to current claimants and $75 million will be set aside in a trust fund to protect any future claimants alleging sexual abuse by Nassar.

The ESPYS are scheduled to air live on Wednesday, July 18 at 8 p.m. ET on ABC.