NewsLocal News


New Directors Elected to Mason Area Chamber Board

Posted: 10:37 AM, Jan 08, 2019
Updated: 2019-01-08 15:37:24Z
 Mason Area Chamber of Commerce
Jodi Somerville
Melanie Squires
Jamie Robinson
Ryan Petty
Don Waskiewicz

MASON, Mich. — The 13-member board of directors of the Mason Area Chamber of Commerce has four newly-elected members with terms that began on January 1, 2019. An additional member had her term extended. At their annual meeting, the chamber membership certified the election new members Ryan Petty of Weather Vane Roofing, Jodi Somerville of Mason Public Schools / Michigan Steam Engine & Threshers Club, Melanie Squires of Dart Bank, and Don Waskiewicz of Deep Blue Insights. Current member Jamie Robinson of Darrell’s Market / Bestsellers has had her term extended.

The new members will take the spots held by retiring board members: Mark Voss of Mark Voss Agency, Ian Richardson of Doberman Technologies, Kassie Rhodes of Dart Bank, and Ron Drzewicki of Mason Public Schools. “Mark, Ian, Ron, and Kassie have each held key leadership roles during their tenure on the board and will continue to be invaluable to the Chamber as seasoned volunteer leaders,” said Doug Klein, MACC executive director.

Other chamber board members who will be continuing in 2019 are Scott Ring of MSU Federal Credit Union, Don Kill of the Mason Optimist Club, Aaron Fiedler of Fiedler Insurance, Mike Waltz of the Kiwanis Club of Mason, Cheryl Benjamin of Dart Container Corporation, Jeff Haueter of the Mason A&W Restaurant, Beth Yeider of Independent Bank, and Debbie Shattuck of the Maple Street Mall.

Any director elected to a full three-year term may not be elected to the board again until one year after the end of their previous term in office. Usually, four or five new directors are elected annually. They must be principals, associates or employees of members of the Chamber in good standing. The Mason Area Chamber of Commerce is a 300-member association of businesses and organizations formed in 1972 to serve the needs of its members and promote sustainable economic growth in the Mason area community.