Snyder announces team to oversee Flint crisis

Posted at 9:44 AM, Jan 27, 2016
and last updated 2016-01-27 09:44:37-05

Gov. Snyder will name a group of medical and field experts to oversee long-term solutions to solve the Flint water crisis.

The group will operate under the name of the Flint Water Interagency Coordinating Committee, and their goal will be to set up long-term solutions to fix Flint's water system.

Flint's mayor Karen Weaver will serve on the newly formed committee. She was elected in November of 2015, after promising to help fix Flint's contaminated water problem.

The committee includes Jamie Curtis, the chairman of the Genesee County Board of Commissioners; Marc Edwards, a civil engineer and professor at Virginia Tech who helped form the Flint Water Study group; and Dr. Mona Hanna-Attisha, the director of the pediatric residency program at Flint's Hurley Medical Center.

Other members of the committee are:

Natasha Henderson is the city administrator and chief administrator officer for the city of Flint.

Jim Koski is a representative of Genesee County who shall be submitted by the Genesee County Board of Commissioners.

Lawrence Reynolds is president and CEO of the Mott Children’s Health Center.

Laura Sullivan is a professor of mechanical engineering at Kettering University.

Mark Valacak is the health officer of the Genesee County Health Department and an instructor at the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine.

There will be another member of the committee who will be named at a later date.

A Coordinating Committee has also been formed; the following people will be members:

• Harvey Hollins, director of Office of Urban Initiatives within the Executive Office of the Governor;

• Col. Chris Kelenske , deputy state director of Emergency Management and Homeland Security within the Michigan Department of State Police;

• Keith Creagh, director of the Department of Environmental Quality, or his or her designee;

• Nick Lyon, director of the Department of Health and Human Services, or his or her designee;

• Mike Zimmer, director of the Department or Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, or his or her designee;

• Nick Khouri, state treasurer, or his or her designee; and

• Brian Whiston, superintendent of public instruction, or his or her designee.

Members of the committed will serve three-year terms expiring December 31, 2018.

Their appointments are independent and not subject to the advice and consent from the Senate.