NewsLocal News


DNC release list of participants for Detroit Democratic debate

Posted at 12:07 PM, Jul 18, 2019
and last updated 2019-07-18 12:07:10-04

DETROIT, Mich. — The Democratic National Committee announced on Wednesday, July 17, which 20 candidates will take part in the second Democratic debate set to happen in Detroit later this month.

The debate will be held over two nights at the Fox Theatre on July 30 and July 31 at 8 p.m.

The group includes:

  • Michael Bennet
  • Joe Biden
  • Cory Booker
  • Steve Bullock
  • Pete Buttigieg
  • Julian Castro
  • Bill de Blasio
  • John Delaney
  • Tulsi Gabbard
  • Kirsten Gillibrand
  • John Hickenlooper
  • Kamala Harris
  • Jay Inslee
  • Amy Klobuchar
  • Beto O’Rourke
  • Tim Ryan
  • Bernie Sanders
  • Elizabeth Warren
  • Marianne Williamson
  • Andrew Yang

Candidates needed to register at least 1% of support in three polls from an approved list of pollsters or received campaign contributions from 65,000 unique donors, including 200 donors each from 20 different states.

CNN will host a live, random drawing to determine the candidate lineup for each night.

The drawing will air on Thursday, July 18 at 8 p.m. during an episode of Anderson Cooper 360.

Want to see more local news ? Visit the FOX47News Website.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android


Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox.

Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook