NewsLocal News


Democrats take top university seats in close elections

Posted at 3:02 PM, Nov 08, 2018
and last updated 2018-11-08 15:02:25-05

Democrats swept the seats at Michigan's top public universities in Tuesday's elections. Each university had two seats open, and the two Democrats in each race narrowly edged out opponents.

Voters backed two new Democrats for the Michigan State University Board of Trustees as the school continues to deal with the fallout from sexual assaults by the now-imprisoned former sports doctor Larry Nassar .

Michigan State University Board of Trustees
Brianna T. Scott (D) - 1,811,674 votes (25.81%)
Kelly Charron Tebay (D) - 1,737,509 votes (24.75%)

The seats that Scott and Tebay won were previously held by Republicans Mitch Lyons and Brian Breslin, who did not seek re-election.

Scott, an attorney, says she looks forward to "restoring the trust, integrity and pride back to MSU." Tebay, who works for the United Way, says she hopes to change the distrust in the board.

The board will have a 6-2 Democratic majority.

Nassar also worked for USA Gymnastics , which trains Olympians. He is imprisoned for molesting athletes and possessing child pornography .

Scott and Tebay are both alumni of MSU.

University of Michigan Board of Regents
Jordan Acker (D) - 1,718,097 votes (24.89%)
Paul Brown (D) - 1,658,476 votes (24.03%)

Wayne State University Board of Governors
Bryan C. Barnhill (D) - 1,714,026 votes (25.69%)
Anil Kumar (D) - 1,585,448 votes (23.76%)

For the full results from these elections, click here.