4:13 PM, Feb 27, 2020


Here's who is exempt from the new order strengthening mask requirements in Michigan

Posted at 11:27 AM, Jul 10, 2020

Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer signed an executive order strengthening Michigan's mask requirement on Friday.

Related: Whitmer signs order requiring people to wear masks in all indoor spaces, crowded outdoor areas
Related: Those who violate mask order in Michigan could get a $500 fine

The order, which goes into effect immediately for individuals, requires people to wear masks in indoor public spaces and in crowded outdoor areas.

For businesses, the order goes into effect at 12:01 a.m. on Monday, July 13.

It also requires businesses that are open to the public to refuse service to those people who aren't wearing masks.

There are some people and situations that are exempt from the new requirements.

Those include:

  • Kids 5 younger than 5 years old
  • Those who can't medically tolerate a face mask
  • Those eating or drinking while seated at a restaurant

People who willfully violate the order are subject to a $500 misdemeanor fine.

Additional Coronavirus information and resources:

Click here for a page with resources including a COVID-19 overview from the CDC, details on cases in Michigan, a timeline of Governor Gretchen Whitmer's orders since the outbreak, coronavirus' impact on Southeast Michigan, and links to more information from the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, the CDC and the WHO.

View a global coronavirus tracker with data from Johns Hopkins University.

See complete coverage on our Coronavirus Continuing Coverage page.

Visit our The Rebound Detroit, a place where we are working to help people impacted financially from the coronavirus. We have all the information on everything available to help you through this crisis and how to access it.