10 presidential hopefuls to speak at NAACP convention in Detroit today

Posted at 8:12 AM, Jul 24, 2019

Several Democratic presidential contenders will be in the Motor City at the NAACP's 110th National Convention Wednesday.

The premier civil rights group confirmed they will be at the convention, which takes place at Cobo Center in downtown Detroit. Those candidates are:

  • Cory Booker, United States Senator
  • Julián Castro, Former U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
  • Kamala Harris, United States Senator
  • Amy Klobuchar, United States Senator
  • Beto O’Rourke, Former Member of the United States House of Representatives
  • Bernie Sanders, United States Senator
  • Elizabeth Warren, United States Senator
  • Joe Biden, Former Vice President
  • Bill Weld, Former MA Governor
  • Pete Buttigieg, Mayor of South Bend, In

The convention will offer candidates and the public the opportunity to discuss critical issues the United States is facing. It's expected more candidates will be announced in the future.

Harris was the keynote speaker at the NAACP Detroit annual Fight for Freedom Fund Dinner earlier this year.

“The upcoming 2020 presidential election is one of the most pivotal elections in our lifetime and will be heavily influenced by the Black electorate. Issues such as voting rights, immigration, criminal justice reform, student loan debt, the economy, and environmental justice persist as crucial concerns for African Americans. We must ensure we’re electing officials who will help us set policy priorities that will bring about positive change for communities of color.” said Derrick Johnson, NAACP President and CEO. “We remain committed to ensuring Black voters are heard and counted throughout this next election cycle. This presidential forum allows us to hear from the candidates as well as bring their attention to our most pressing concerns as a community.”

Every election, the NAACP says it extends invites to Republican and Democratic nominees for president to address the NAACP membership during the annual convention. Past speakers have included Hillary Clinton, President Barack Obama, Mitt Romney, John McCain, John Kerry, President George W. Bush, President Bill Clinton and VP Al Gore.