News

Actions

Minimum wage increase for Michigan employees taking effect March 29

Posted: 1:18 PM, Mar 20, 2019
Updated: 2019-03-21 13:28:26Z
Minimum wage increase for Michigan employees taking effect March 29

The minimum wage increase for Michigan employees is set to take effect on March 29, according to the state Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Department.

The rate will move up from $9.25 to $9.45 per hour. Overtime requirements will remain the same under the Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, according to LARA. Non-exempt employees should be paid 1.5 times their regular rate of pay for working more than 40 hours in a 7-day work week.

For employees age 16 to 19:

An employer may continue to pay minors 16 to 17 years of age 85% of the minimum hourly wage rate. On March 29, 2019, that rate will increase from $7.86 to $8.03 per hour. There is no change to the training wage of $4.25 per hour that may be paid to newly hired employees, 16 to 19 years of age, for the first 90 days of their employment.

By 2021, the hourly minium wage rate is expected to reach $9.87.

</p><p>Click here for more information.